Homemade Butter

Had I known it was this easy I would have made this melt-in-your-mouth homemade butter last year.

finishedbutter

Simply TWO ingredients– that’s it. No oils, no water, no chemicals or artificial colors. Just cream (collected from our goat milk) and a touch of salt (for flavoring). This butter actually melts on toast.

The “how to” is to collect the milk and allow it to sit for about 36 hours for the cream to rise to the top.

I collect 2 cups in the morning and place it in a 9×13 glass baking dish in the fridge. I do this for 2 days. On the 3rd day I skim the cream formed at the top and place it in a jar. The jar is sealed and placed in the freezer so that I may add further cream collection to it to make about a pint. The milk from which the cream was collected is then placed in a freezer bag and stored in the freezer.

When I have filled a pint of cream I allowed the jar thaw to room temperature.

Transferring the cream to the blender, I blended the cream and drained off the liquid (buttermilk) into a separate jar.

blenderbutter

I then filled a deep mixing bowl with ice water, attached a strainer (or you can use another bowl to fit inside the mixing bowl). This is to shape the butter and I added a touch of salt for taste.

I used it on toast this morning and it was absolutely delicious.

Healthy eating, friends.

Leave a Reply

