Then and Now Transitioning from Spring to Fall

I thought I would share with you our transitions from spring to fall. How those spring baby kids have grown to making our herd of now 6 goats. Some photos to show then and now.

thennowivory

Ivory

Ivory is now 7 months old and as big as her mom. Ivory’s color is no longer white. She’s appearing to be almost the negative of an alpine with black markings around her eyes. Ivory is beautiful and so sweet.

DSC04759

Flake and Ivory

 

Rollo and Hazel the twins born a month later are catching up quick.

thennowhazelrollo

The twins

Rollo is at the top right of the photo and his sister, Hazel is at the bottom right.

Our garden has seen transition from spring through summer, summer through fall and now fall for winter. Always sowing and reaping the harvest. Our potato crib has been growing all year beginning with russet potatoes and now sweet.

thennowpotatoes

potato crib

The inset on the bottom left is a new sweet potato. Among the sweets are new russet plants. Apparently I didn’t pull all the whites out and they are growing again.

Our composting has made transitions from one location to another. This is where I can be a bit anal about the poop I collect. I determine the next location while I am working on the current mound. How the weather will affect it ie: sun, rain. I have one mound which I am working front to back, one mound sits in the shade and a new mound is being started. The mound will sit in it’s location for 6 months. The table below shows the results of collection samplings of composted horse manure.

e307_table1

The picture below is compost from the mound which sits in the shade and is left undisturbed. Rich and moist. Now is the time I condition the garden section I am preparing for my cover crop of rape seed. This will feed the goats and horses. We enjoy it in our salads and stir fried with vegetables.

compost                          wintergarden

wintergarden2

When considering what to plant in the garden I take into account what we eat as well as what our animals will eat. Every one has something. As the weather begins to cool some consider other cover crops for the animals such as rye grass and clovers to provide them with the nutrients they need.

New plantings of broccoli, brussel sprouts and lettuce will provide us with the necessary greens we need to supply our bodies, along with sweet potatoes and carrots (orange foods). A colorful plate all winter long.  Hauling several loads of compost I asked myself, “is it worth it?” . A quick resounding “YES” came immediately. Where else could I go and receive such reward as seeing a beautiful sweet potato flower?

DSCN3435

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post. Fueling Up for Winter-stay well, stay active.

Share and Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

