This Cheese has no Integrity

IMAG0193

This is a picture of my first attempt at making cheese 16 hours later. UGGGGH!!!!!!!

I have been gearing and developing our homestead to get to this point of the journey and begin cheese making. Looking forward to some Chevre cheese to spread on crackers, dotted with some dried herbs. Wow! it was mouth watering. Studied the process, found a recipe from an awesome site culturesforhealth.com. Ordered my cheese culture from Hoegger Supply. Collected my 16 cups of milk from the girls. Waited patiently (I think) for the culture to arrive.

Well, after this fiasco, I just might hang up my test kitchen apron. Through all the pain staking efforts every homesteader puts into their finished products only to have the culture arrive by mail and opening the package to find that the culture itself was caked and hard upon arrival. I knew this was not going to be a good outcome. I may be new to cheese making but I am no stranger to the kitchen when it comes to fresh ingredients (40+ years). I proceeded anyway by making an attempt to dissolve the culture in a separate cup using the heated milk. It would not dissolve rather it was clumpy and floated on top. That’s it! A gallon of milk for the chickens and garden.

I immediately phoned Hoegger Supply to voice my concern with their product. Their response was: “We’re expecting a new batch next week.”. Ok, my thoughts were: “What the hell did I get? The bottom of the barrel? Did you scrap the sides of the barrel to come up with a packet-just to make a sale?”. They indicated they will be sending me a new batch. Oh! that’s all fine and well. Needless to say I discontinued the call and held my head in my hands and just cried. There’s no Integrity!

If a supplier has products which are outdated then that product will not perform. The product will have no integrity and neither does the supplier who sells it. I had used this supplier for 6 years and all of a sudden over the past 6 months and two orders their integrity has diminished drastically.

This cheese has no integrity.

Every day, homesteading is a challenge all on it’s own. The homesteader had tenacity, determination, strength, staying-power. The homesteader has integrity putting in their all in everything they do and receiving the bounty of their harvest. There are days of successes and days of failures. I guess this was my day of failure.

g6576

5 thoughts on “This Cheese has no Integrity

  1. I feel your pain, I have had this happen to me before. If this happens again, what you can do is take the caked up cultures and just sprinkle over room temperature milk, preferably in a mason jar, and then let it ferment for 8-12 hours in a warm place. This should thicken but not for cheese, it will be a mother culture. You can then pour it into ice cube trays and freeze. This way you can salvage any “past it’s prime” cultures that may come. Kudos to you for calling the company about sending you substandard product.

    How much rennet did you use?

    • Thank you for your comment. The recipe I used for chevre cheese didn’t call for rennet. Did I miss something all together?

      • Also, thank you for your tips and bringing up rennet. I looked it up and a few drops should have been added. The recipe did not indicate the use of rennet. I had it available. I will have to verse myself with the ingredients and what their roll is.

Leave a Reply

